Walking Tour

Take a walking tour through downtown Chillicothe to explore the unique tapestry of murals that make our city unique. If you can’t visit in person, take a virtual tour of our “community as canvas” below and learn the significance of each of these great works of art to the history of Chillicothe.

You can also download our printable Mural Map.

 

  Webster Street View (108 Washington Street)
This view of Webster Street on the north side of the square, circa 1916, shows the street bustling with visitors arriving and departing from the Milwaukee depot. Many of the buildings in the mural are still in use today. 
     
  Heroes in History (700 Second Street) - Chillicothe has a tradition of possessing an effective firefighting department, and the scenes depicted in this mural, circa 1886 to the 1920s, show the department’s equipment and operations over the early decades of its existence. The team of horses, Joe and Dan, set the world’s record in 1898 for their speed in responding to a fire. 
     
  Scouting through Time (317 Washington Street) - “Kids Throughout the Decades” is the theme four local Girl Scout troops selected for this mural that served as their Gold Award Project. The scrapbook-style mural features pictures that show how kids lived and played during the 1800s through the 1930s. All of the photos have special significance in the history of the Girl Scouts. 
     
  Original Artworks by Kelly (443 Locust Street) - This mural depicts the “New York Store” on the former 500 block of Locust Street. This Chillicothe mainstay was built in 1886, handling all of Chillicothe’s dry goods and serving as one of north Missouri’s finest establishments for ornate hats, caps, gloves and robes as well as other necessary household items. 
     
  Millinery Ghost Sign (455 Locust Street) - This recreation of an earlier “ghost sign” harkens back to previous occupants of the building circa the 1920s. The building has had many uses including a hotel, barber shop, pool hall, lawyer’s offices, grocery store, furniture store, women’s dress store, undertaker’s parlor, millinery and brothel. 
     
  Citizens Bank & Trust (515 Locust Street) - This mural, painted in April 1994, depicts the newly remodeled lobby of Citizens Bank & Trust circa 1907. Citizen’s Bank was established in 1889 and has served Chillicothe and the surrounding area for more than 100 years. 
     
  The Brick Plant (619 Elm Street) - This three-dimensional mural was designed by Sherwood Patek, whose family owned and operated Midland Tile & Brick for over 35 years. The Brick Plant was operational until the late 1900s. It is a unique mural with layers of texture and is rich in area history.  
     
  A Trophy View (801 Elm Street) - This unique two-sided mural illustrates Livingston County’s rich connection with the outdoors. Different elements combine to make this mural native to the area, including the blue heron, wild turkey and bobcat against a background of the Grand River and surrounding landscape. The bridge was key in the success of the Pony Express. Mail transported to St. Joseph on the Hannibal & St. Joseph Railroad crossed that very bridge. 
     
  Lowenstein Ghost Sign (801 Locust Street) - This rehabilitated “ghost sign” represents the early 1900s inhabitant of the now Anderson Tire Co. building. A. Lowenstein Mercantile Company was purveyor of wholesale eggs, wool and produce purchased from Livingston County farmers. 
     
  Railroad Boom (724 Locust Street) - Chillicothe was a point of convergence for three railroads serving northern Missouri - Burlington, Wabash and Milwaukee. This mural includes a scene of a steam engine traveling the local countryside in the last years of the 1890s. The railroad company logos represent all the lines that served Chillicothe since 1857. 
     
  Going Somewhere (708 Locust Street) - Created from an original painting by Fred Irvin, this scene portrays Chillicothe pre-World War I. The Milwaukee Depot, demolished in 1977, serves as the backdrop for period vehicles and a drawn streetcar that transported patrons to the station. 
     
  Palace of Fashion (701 Locust Street) - Located in approximately the same location of its original storefront, this mural showcases a vibrant, early 1900s women’s apparel and hat store. The mural uses the French technique of trompe-l'œil (trick the eye) to create the illusion of a once existent upper level staircase and balcony. 
     
  Milbank Mills (707 Webster Street) - Chillicothe’s oldest existing business, founded in 1867 by George Milbank, milled locally harvested wheat into flour marketed under the “Silver Moon” brand. The original mill is depicted as it appeared around 1910. From the earliest days, the company sold animal feed as a by-product of flour milling. Over the years, feed products became dominant. The company, led by the fourth generation of the Milbank family, continues to market them today. 
     
  Window in Time (713 Webster Street) – This mural showcases pieces of Chillicothe’s history, including five multi-generational businesses still in existence and others where people have lifelong memories. What was once a blank wall now paints a portrait of many life stories and serves as a community conversation piece. 
     
  Home of Sliced Bread (709 Washington Street) - Perhaps Chillicothe’s most sought out mural, this lively scene of historic Locust Street is adorned with the logo of Chillicothe’s claim to fame as the Home of Sliced Bread. 
     
  Locust Street View (711 Washington Street) - This mural was chosen based on an 1890 postcard of Locust Street in its prime. The street scene depicts the original buildings in downtown Chillicothe with the activity of the day, many of which are still in use today. It depicts the time of the horse and carriage, railroad cars and friendly passersby. 
     
  Agricultural Homage (718 Washington Street) - This scene shows an early 20th Century harvest season, complete with the “Jenkins Hay Rake” which was designed, built and sold in Chillicothe, Mo. The mural is accented with a steam-powered tractor, old threshing machine, log cabin, red wood barn and covered wagon. 
     
  Chillicothe Business College (710 Washington Street) - Operational from 1890 through the early 1950s, the Chillicothe Business College offered professional and occupational training programs for a student body of more than one thousand. Graduates fondly remember advertisements that spanned from Missouri to California and calculated the number of miles to the CBC. 
     
 

 

Powered by Element74
2014 © Main Street Chillicothe  |  (660) 646-4071  |  514 Washington Street  |  Chillicothe, MO 64601